Member Monday Bio- Christina Bertrand

jlsdblog
Christina graduated California State University, Fullerton with a degree in Liberal Studies and an emphasis in Education. She has been employed with Invacare Corporation for over 16 years as a Territory Business Manager (fancy title for Outside Sales Representative). She finds her work at Invacare to be “very rewarding” because it allows her to help people with physical disabilities regain their independence whether that be through the use of a walker, a manual wheelchair, a custom power chair, adaptive sports equipment, or any other equipment needed in the home. Christina joined Junior League of Orange County in 2002 then joined the Junior League of Charlotte, followed by Junior League of Santa Barbara and finally calling Junior League of San Diego home since 2005.
  • Status (sustainer, active, etc.): 
    • I am currently a Sustainer and am serving as the Sustainer Co-Director.
  • Where are you from?
    • I am a native Southern Californian and grew up in Chino and Rancho Cucamonga.
  • Any history of JL members in your family or close friends?
    • I don’t  have family ties to JL, but through my mom’s involvement in various organizations, I learned at a young age the importance of helping those in need and volunteering in the community.  I first heard about Junior League through a volunteer position I held at The United Way of Orange County as a mentor for mothers who were at risk of abusing and neglecting their children. JLOCC had a role in starting the program I was involved with many years earlier.  Just a few weeks later while visiting a friend,  she mentioned she was joining the JL at the suggestion of her mother who was a sustaining member.  I was very curious to learn more about JL and called JLOCC a few days later.
  • Tell us about your role as Sustainer Director: 
    • My role as Sustainer Director has been fun because I get to share the role with my very good friend Linda Spuck.  Together with our committee, we are planning some fun socials and meetings to keep the sustaining members connected to JLSD.
  • What are your most memorable experience(s) from the League:  
    • My most memorable JL experience hands down was the trip I took to Southwest Exchange with Christiane Hoffman, Jen Douillard, and Linda Spuck. The training we received during Southwest Exchange was awesome, but the friendship the 4 of us forged that weekend will last our entire lives.  We still laugh hysterically over the antics and fun we had that weekend.
  • How do you balance work and personal life? 
    • Balancing my work and personal life has typically been pretty easy for me.  Things do get out of balance every once in a while, but refocusing on my priorities (my husband, my family, and friends) always gets me back on track.
  • Any fun fact you would like to add about yourself?
    •  I am addicted to popcorn and still make it in a pan on the stove top!  Popcorn tastes funny to me from the microwave and popcorn poppers gross me out because they are too hard to wash.  I really enjoy walking the trails at Torrey Pines State Park after work because it’s quiet and calms me down after a stressful work day.

Leave a Reply

